The European Medical Journal Editorial Board is composed of internationally renowned health experts, academics and clinicians. Regular contact with board members ensures that all comments, guidance and suggestions are received and handled appropriately.

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Antonio Rossi

Medical Oncologist, Division of Medical Oncology, S.G. Moscati Hospital, Avellino, Italy.

Prof Peter Barnes

Professor of Thoracic Medicine, Head of Respiratory Medicine, National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London; Honorary Consultant Physician, Royal Brompton Hospital, London, UK; Past President of the European Respiratory Society (ERS) (2013-2014).

Dr Francesco Blasi

Head of the Pathophysiology and Transplant Department, University of Milan, and the Cardiothoracic Unit, University Hospital IRCCS Fondazione Ospedale Maggiore Ca’ Granda, Milan, Italy; Former President of the European Respiratory Society (ERS) (2012-2013); President of the Italian Society of Respiratory Medicine (SIMeR) (2015-present).

Prof Dr Jacques Bouchard

Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Laval University; Head of the Medicine Department, La Malbaie Hospital, Québec City, Québec, Canada.

Prof Andrew Bush

Professor of Paediatrics and Head of Section (Paediatrics), Imperial College London; Professor of Paediatric Respirology, National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London;  Consultant Paediatric Chest Physician, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust, London, UK.

Prof Enrico Clini

Associate Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Department of Medical and Surgical  Sciences, University of Modena, Modena, Italy.

Prof Dr Marion Delcroix

Professor of Medicine and Respiratory Physiology, University of Leuven (KUL)  and Kortrijk (KULAK); Head of the Centre for Pulmonary Vascular Diseases, Department of Respiratory Diseases, University Hospitals Leuven, Leuven, Belgium.

Dr Anthony D’Urzo

Associate Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto; Chair, Primary Care Respiratory Alliance of Canada, Toronto,  Ontario, Canada.

Prof Dr Oliver Eickelberg

Chairman, Comprehensive Pneumology Center, Helmholtz Zentrum München and Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich; Director, Institute of Lung Biology and Disease, Helmholtz  Zentrum München, Munich, Germany; Vice Chairman, German Center for Lung Research (DZL); Foundation Fellow and Member of the European Respiratory Society (ERS); Member of the American Thoracic  Society (ATS).

Prof Dr Nicholas Hill

Professor of Medicine, Tufts University, and Chief of the Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Division, Tufts Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts, USA; Past President of the American  Thoracic Society (ATS) (2011-2012).

Dr Ravi Kalhan

Associate Professor in Medicine and Preventive Medicine, Director of the Asthma and  COPD Program, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois, USA.

Prof Dario Olivieri

Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Parma, Parma, Italy; Master Fellow of American College of Chest Physicians; Past President of the European Respiratory Society (ERS) (1994).

Dr Paraschiva Postolache

Head of the Respiratory Rehabilitation Clinic; Head of the Counselling Center  for Smoking Cessation; Senior Physician in Internal Medicine, Clinical Pharmacology, and Pulmonology; Specialist Physician in Medical Rehabilitation; Smoking Cessation Adviser, Rehabilitation Clinical Hospital, Grigore T. Popa University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Iasi, Romania; Coordinator of Pulmonary  Rehabilitation Working Group of the Romanian Society of Pneumology (SRP).

Prof David Price

Professor of Primary Care Respiratory Medicine, Academic Primary Care, University of Aberdeen, Aberdeen, UK; Co-founder of the Respiratory Effectiveness Group; Member of the Allergic Rhinitis and its Impact on Asthma (ARIA) Group, and the European Position Paper on Rhinosinusitis and Nasal Polyps; Director of Observational and Pragmatic Research Institute (OPRI), Singapore.

Prof Jim Reid

Deputy Dean, Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand.

Dr Dermot Ryan

Honorary Clinical Research Fellow, Centre for Population Health Sciences, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK; Chairman, Primary Care Interest Group, European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (EAACI); Past Chairman of the Primary Care Respiratory Society (PCRS) UK; Member of the British Thoracic Society (BTS), the European Respiratory Society (ERS), the British Society for Allergy and Clinical Immunology (BSACI), the European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (EAACI), the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP), the Irish College of General Practitioners (ICGP), the PCRS-UK, the Respiratory Effectiveness Group (REG), the Allergic Rhinitis and its Impact on Asthma (ARIA) Group, and the International Primary Care Respiratory Group (IPCRG).

Prof Nikolaos M. Siafakas

Professor Emeritus of Thoracic Medicine, Department of Thoracic Medicine, University General Hospital, Medical School, University of Crete, Heraklion, Crete, Greece; Past President  of the European Respiratory Society (ERS) (2009-2010).

Prof Giovanni Viegi

Acting Director, Institute of Biomedicine and Molecular Immunology, National  Research Council, Palermo, Italy; Head of the Pulmonary Environmental Epidemiology Unit, Institute of Clinical Physiology, National Research Council; and Contract Professor, Faculty of Environmental Sciences, University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy; Past President of the European Respiratory Society (ERS) (2006-2007); Member of the ERS, the American Thoracic Society (ATS), the International Union Against  Tuberculosis and Lung Disease, and the Executive Committee of the Italian Society of Respiratory Medicine (SIMeR); Italian Representative at the Global Alliance Against Chronic Respiratory Diseases (GARD).