The European Medical Journal Editorial Board is composed of internationally renowned health experts, academics and clinicians. Regular contact with board members ensures that all comments, guidance and suggestions are received and handled appropriately.

Editor-in-Chief: Prof Jörg Huber

Professor of Health Sciences and Deputy Director, Research Design Service South East; Centre for Health Research, School of Health Sciences, University of Brighton, Brighton, UK.

Prof Henning Beck-Nielsen

Professor and Chief Physician, Department of Endocrinology, Odense  University Hospital, Odense, Denmark; Council member of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (2012-2015), Head and Chairman of the Board of the Danish Diabetes Academy, Chairman of the steering committee of the Danish Centre for Strategic Research in Type 2 Diabetes – DD2; Awarded the Order of the Dannebrog (2013), the Paul Langerhans Medal (2013), and the Jeppe and Ovita Juhl’s  Honorary Award (2010).

Dr Jonathan Bodansky

Consultant Physician in General Internal Medicine and Diabetes, Leeds Teaching Hospitals; Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK.

Dr Martijn Brouwers

Internist-endocrinologist, Department of Internal Medicine, Division Endocrinology, Maastricht University Medical Centre, Maastricht, Netherlands.

Prof Dr Jürgen Eckel

Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Head of the Paul-Langerhans-Group, German Diabetes Center, Düsseldorf, Germany.

Mrs Anne-Marie Felton

President, Foundation of European Nurses in Diabetes, Newcastle upon Tyne;  Vice President, Diabetes UK, London, UK; Former Vice President, the International Diabetes Federation, Brussels, Belgium; Chair, Organising Committee IDF World Diabetes Congress Vancouver 2015.

Prof Dr Baptist Gallwitz

Professor of Medicine, Outpatient Clinic for Endocrinology, Diabetes and  Metabolism; Vice Chair, Department of Internal Medicine IV, University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany.

Dr Yehuda Handelsman

Medical Director and Principal Investigator, Metabolic Institute of America, Tarzana, California; Immediate Past President, American College of Endocrinology, Jacksonville, Florida, USA.

Prof Sehnaz Karadeniz

Professor of Ophthalmology, Ophthalmology Dept. of Istanbul Florence  Nightingale Hospital; Teaching Faculty, Dept. of Ophthalmology, Medical Faculty of Istanbul Science University; Founding Member and Member of the Board of Trustees of the Turkish Diabetes Foundation; Council Member of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes; Chair, International Diabetes Federation European Region.

Mrs Deirdre Kyne-Grzebalski

Treasurer and Trustee of the Foundation of European Nurses in Diabetes, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.

Dr Lorenzo Pasquali

Junior Group Leader, Department of Endocrinology, Germans Trias i Pujol University Hospital and Research Institute, and Josep Carreras Leukaemia Research Institute, Barcelona, Spain;  Member of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes, Italian Society of Human Genetics,  Spanish Diabetes Society, Catalan Diabetes Society; Awarded the Rising Star EFSD Award (2014).

Ms Anne Phillips

Senior Lecturer in Diabetes Care, Department of Health Sciences, University of York, York; Volunteer, Diabetes UK, London, UK; Quality in Care (QiC) in Diabetes Collaborative Award Winner 2013 & QIC Outstanding Diabetes Educator Award 2014.

Dr David J Simmons

Professor of Medicine, Western Sydney University and Campbelltown Hospital, Campbelltown, Australia; Consultant Diabetes Physician, Cambridge University Hospitals, Cambridge, UK; Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia; Visiting Professor, University of Örebro, Örebro, Sweden.

Prof Dr Coen Stehouwer

Professor of Medicine and Chair, Department of Internal Medicine, Maastricht University Medical Centre, Maastricht, Netherlands.

Prof Dr Vilma Urbančič-Rovan

Head of the Diabetes Unit, University Medical Centre Ljubljana, and Assistant Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia; Founding member of the  Diabetic Foot Study Group of the European Association of the Study of Diabetes, Secretary of the Slovenian Endocrine Association, Co-ordinator of the Slovenian Diabetic Foot Working Group, Member of the Programme Committee of the EASD (2004), and Member of the International Working Group on the Diabetic Foot.

Dr Simon Williams

Senior Lecturer in Public Health, Faculty of Life Sciences and Education, University of South Wales, Pontypridd, UK.